Peters Township Public Library
Site Map           
Peters Township Public Library
   
General Information
Borrower's Information
Programs
Library Events
Timeline
New Books
Memorial Book Program
Friends of the Library
Annual Report
Fundraising and Contribution Opportunities
PT Council and Library Board
Links: Recommended Websites
Get a Library Card

Online Databases

Please click on icon to access database. A more detailed description of each database may be found after the icons.

Pittsburgh Post-Gazette & America's Newspapers


Biography In Context


College Source Online; For home use, Username = PTPL; Password = first 6 digits of your PTPL library card


Infobase eBooks


Mango Languages


PA Power Library


Salem Health


Salem History


Testing & Education Reference Center


Universal Class

WilsonWeb

Heritage Quest


Ferguson's Career Guidance Center


About Our Online Databases

The Peters Township Public Library provides access to the online databases listed above as a service to our library patrons. For remote access, you will need to supply your library barcode number as part of the login process (unless otherwise indicated). Arranged alphabetically, a description of each of the databases is provided below to aid you in your research. You may also access the database by clicking on the heading.


Pittsburgh Post-Gazette & America's Newspapers
America's Newspapers contains the complete editions of over 1500 newspaper archives and is keyword searchable so you can easily locate news, obituaries, sports, statistics, video clips, and other stories from almost anywhere, all without a per-article fee. Includes the Observer-Reporter, the Pittsburgh Post Gazette, the New York Times, and many more, and is updated daily.

Biography in Context
Biography in Context is a comprehensive database of biographical information on over 320,000 persons from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas. Biography in Context combines nearly 415,000 biographies from more than 700 of well respected Gale Group Resources. This database also includes full-text articles from nearly 300 periodicals. Search for people using name, places, nationality, ethnicity, occupation, and birth/death dates.

College Source Online; For home use, Username = PTPL; Password = first 6 digits of your PTPL library card
CollegeSource® Online is the first and only comprehensive collection of college catalog and course data in existence. With over 42 million course descriptions and more than 52 thousand cover-to-cover college catalogs available in PDF format, you can get the information you need in seconds.

In addition to catalogs, the profiles for each institution includes maps, web site links, accreditation data, calendar/unit types, transcript keys, and more!

Ferguson's Career Guidance Center
Ferguson's Career Guidance Center offers Job and Industry Profiles which includes nearly 3,400 jobs and 94 industries, broken down into 16 Career Clusters created by the Department of Education. This online resource also offers Job Hunting and Workplace Skills, providing guidance on the essentials of getting a job and keeping it, establishing a career path, honing interview skills, writing resumes and more. You will also find Career and Industry Resources offering more than 55,000 searchable, browsable resource entries, divided into convenient categories on fellowships, organizations, internships, scholarships and awards.

Heritage Quest
HeritageQuest source document holdings include over 250,000 titles, making it America's largest genealogical information provider. The company is dedicated to producing high-use data, landmark publications, general reference books and timely, informative periodicals for genealogy enthusiasts at every level.


Infobase eBooks
Infobase Publishing is one of America's leading providers of supplemental educational materials to the school and library markets under such well-known names as Facts On File, Films for the Humanities & Sciences, Cambridge Educational, Chelsea House, Bloom's Literary Criticism, World Almanac®, and Ferguson Publishing. All eBooks offered at this site are currently also available as hard copies in the library's collection.

Mango Languages
Mango Languages is an online language-learning system teaching actual conversation skills for a wide variety of languages. Mango uses real-life situations and actual conversations to more effectively teach a new language. By listening to and repeating after material designed from native conversations, you'll not only learn the individual words and phrases, you'll know how they're used in practical situations and conversations. You'll learn more than grammar, vocabulary and conjugation, you'll learn how to communicate.

PA Power Library
PA POWER Library is offered as a service of Pennsylvania's public libraries, school libraries, and the State Library. The POWER library allows you to acces thousands of full text periodical articles, newspapers, a major encyclopedia, plus photographs, pictures, charts, maps, reference materials for young people and more. You will find materials of interest in most subject areas for all age groups from young children to adults.

Salem Health
Salem Health offers access to an online version of Magill's Medical Guide. Designed for laymen and written for healthcare consumers, the Guide is a perfect mix of accessbility and depth, providing general readers with an authoritative reference source that helps bridge the gap between medical encyclopedias for professionals and popular self-help guides.

Salem History
Salem History offers access to an online version of the following materials: The Fifties in America, The Sixties in America, The Seventies in America, The Eighties in America, The Nineties in America, and Milestone Documents in American History

Testing & Education Reference Center
The Testing & Education Reference Center database offers assistance in locating a college or graduate school, help finding scholarships and awards, and on-line practice tests for college entrance exams and certificate and licensing exams. The database includes thousands of college and graduate school entries.” Testing and Education Reference Center also includes a collection of online books for examination preparation, college preparation, licensing examinations, and graduate school online books.

Universal Class
The Universal Class database offers over 500 free online courses covering a wide range of topics. After registering at the library (you must register at the library to access the courses for free) using your Peters Township Public Library card, patrons may access the site within the library or from any remote location by clicking on the “Universal Class” icon at the "Online Databases" page.

WilsonWeb
WilsonWeb features five popular databases for searching periodical resources, including Current Biography Illustrated, Omni File Full Text (Mega Edition), Omni File Full Text (Select Edition), Reader’s Guide Full Text (Select Editiion) and Science Full Text (Select Edition).



iBistro Online Catalog
PA Power Library

Online Book Club

Book Forum
Kids Corner
Visit Our Gallery
     
 

© 2007 Peters Township Public Library
616 E. McMurray Road
McMurray, Pennsylvania 15317
Phone: 724-941-9430

Online Databases