Peters Township Public Library Logo Peters Township Public Library
Home Catalog My Account Hours Location Contact Us

Search Our Catalog

  How to Search the Catalog

2013 Peters Township Public Library Annual Report
HAPLR Index


Databases
The Peters Township Public Library provides access to the online databases listed below as a service to our library patrons. For remote access, you will need to supply your 14-digit library barcode number as part of the login process (unless otherwise indicated). Arranged alphabetically, a description of each of the databases is provided below to aid you in your research. You may also access the database by clicking on the logos to the left.

AtoZ the World

AtoZ the World is the world's most thorough country-by-country resource for learning about culture and customs worldwide. Resources include 175 Country Guides of 100+ topics each. Benefits include: Academic Institutions and Students can easily research culture, music, national symbols, religion, education and women in society; Public library patrons can access country-specific data for research or travel; International relocation firms can help relocating clients to adapt comfortably to their new settings through our cultural content; Global consulting firms can facilitate international business transactions with extensive business-culture data. Search now
 

Biography Resource Center

Biography Resource Center contains more than 422,000 biographies on more than 335,000 people gathered from more than 940 volumes of more than 135 award-winning Thomsal Gale reference sources. In addition, full-text articles from nearly 300 magazines specifically chosen for their renowned biographical content in a broad range of subject areas are featured. Search now
 

CollegeSource® Online

CollegeSource® Online is the first and only comprehensive collection of college catalog and course data in existence. With over 42 million course descriptions and more than 52 thousand cover-to-cover college catalogs available in PDF format, you can get the information you need in seconds.

In addition to catalogs, the profiles for each institution includes maps, web site links, accreditation data, calendar/unit types, transcript keys, and more! Search now
 

Ferguson's Career Guidance Center

Ferguson's Career Guidance Center offers Job and Industry Profiles which includes nearly 3,400 jobs and 94 industries, broken down into 16 Career Clusters created by the Department of Education. This online resource also offers Job Hunting and Workplace Skills, providing guidance on the essentials of getting a job and keeping it, establishing a career path, honing interview skills, writing resumes and more. You will also find Career and Industry Resources offering more than 55,000 searchable, browsable resource entries, divided into convenient categories on fellowships, organizations, internships, scholarships and awards. Search now
 

Gale Courses

Gale Courses offers a wide range of highly interactive courses that you can take entirely online. You can enroll in courses with your library card. Courses run for six weeks and new sessions begin every month. Search now
 

HeritageQuest

HeritageQuest source document holdings include over 250,000 titles, making it America's largest genealogical information provider. The company is dedicated to producing high-use data, landmark publications, general reference books and timely, informative periodicals for genealogy enthusiasts at every level. Search now
 

Infobase eBooks

Infobase Publishing is one of America's leading providers of supplemental educational materials to the school and library markets under such well-known names as Facts On File, Films for the Humanities & Sciences, Cambridge Educational, Chelsea House, Bloom's Literary Criticism, World Almanac®, and Ferguson Publishing. All eBooks offered at this site are currently also available as hard copies in the library's collection. Search now
 

Mango Languages

Mango Languages is an online language-learning system teaching actual conversation skills for a wide variety of languages. Mango uses real-life situations and actual conversations to more effectively teach a new language. By listening to and repeating after material designed from native conversations, you'll not only learn the individual words and phrases, you'll know how they're used in practical situations and conversations. You'll learn more than grammar, vocabulary and conjugation, you'll learn how to communicate. Search now
 

Morningstar

Morningstar is a provider of unbiased independent investment research in the United States and abroad. Morningstar provides data on more that 385,000 investment offerings, including stocks, mutual funds and similar vehicles, along with real-time global market data on more than 8 million equities, indexes, futures, options, commodities, and precious metals, in addition to foreign exchange and Treasury markets. Search now
 

One More Story

One More Story is an online library of the best of classic and contemporary children’s literature. The site makes books accessible to pre-readers and early readers so that they can engage in and enjoy literature. Please note: this site is not available remotely and can only be accessed within the library. To access the site: Library username: PTLibrary. Password: read15317. Search now

PA POWER Library

PA POWER Library is offered as a service of Pennsylvania's public libraries, school libraries, and the State Library. The POWER library allows you to acces thousands of full text periodical articles, newspapers, a major encyclopedia, plus photographs, pictures, charts, maps, reference materials for young people and more. You will find materials of interest in most subject areas for all age groups from young children to adults. Search now
 

Salem Health

Salem Health offers access to an online version of Magill's Medical Guide. Designed for laymen and written for healthcare consumers, the Guide is a perfect mix of accessibility and depth, providing general readers with an authoritative reference source that helps bridge the gap between medical encyclopedias for professionals and popular self-help guides. Search now
 

Salem History

Salem History offers access to an online version of the following materials: The Fifties in America, The Sixties in America, The Seventies in America, The Eighties in America, The Nineties in America, and Milestone Documents in American History. Search now
 

Scholastic BookFlix

Scholastic BookFlix is an online literary resource for grades PreK – 3 that pairs classic video storybooks from Weston Woods with related nonfiction eBooks from Scholastic to build a love of reading and learning. An engaging way to link fact and fiction, BookFlix reinforces early reading skills and introduces children to a world of knowledge and exploration. Search now

SnapShot PA

SnapShot PA is a collection of photos from academic, public, school and special libraries across the Commonwealth, all taken on October 15, 2012. The resulting photos capture the collective impact that PA libraries have on their communities on a typical day. To see photos from the Peters Township Public Library, click on the "SnapShot PA on Flickr" phrase in the upper right hand corner, then type in "peters tpl" in the upper right hand search box. Refine the search by clicking on the "tags only" phrase to the right of the search box. Search now

TeachingBooks.net

TeachingBooks.net offers the ability for users to meet authors and illustrators online anytime. It helps make K-12 reading and library activities a dynamic, multimedia experience and creatively engages students and educators alike with author programs, books readings and book guides. To access the site: Library username: ptlibrary. Password: 15317. Search now

The Testing & Education Reference Center

The Testing & Education Reference Center database offers assistance in locating a college or graduate school, help finding scholarships and awards, and on-line practice tests for college entrance exams and certificate and licensing exams. The database includes thousands of college and graduate school entries. Testing and Education Reference Center also includes a collection of online books for examination preparation, college preparation, licensing examinations, and graduate school online books. Search now

Universal Class

The Universal Class database offers over 500 free online courses covering a wide range of topics. After registering at the library (you must register at the library to access the courses for free) using your Peters Township Public Library card, patrons may access the site within the library or from any remote location by clicking on the "Universal Class" icon. Search now
Quick Links

   

View Our Events Calendar

Sign Up
   Sign up for Our Email Newsletter
   


Connect
PTPL Blogs Follow us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter  See our Photos on FlickrPTPL YouTube


Magazine

In Community Peters Township Magazine
Municipal Pages

 Photo
June / July 2014

Untitled Page